Friends, Fruit, and Food

Standard

Sorry about the lack of post yesterday. I thought I was on my deathbed (excuse my dramatic statement – being sick brings out the drama in me). I couldn’t eat or drink anything because my stomach was too upset, and really, there is nothing worse than not being able to eat because I looooove eating. I woke from my nap with a fever from being dehydrated and called on my Boston-mom/best frand to save me with some crackers and Gatorade, and save me she did! That’s why she is first on my happy list today:

1. M and D, and of course their pup Luna. I have never met more caring, fun, hilarious, passionate, and smart people before. EVER. I have known M and her family since I was born – our families vacation together in the middle of nowhere Canada. She has lived in the Boston area for almost 10 years now, so when I moved here in August of 2011, she and Dave took me under their wings. It’s almost like they are my Boston parents! We have dinner together at least once a week where M teaches me some new gluten free recipe secrets and D teaches me something new about the gossip section of Yahoo! news. I owe a lot to these wonderful people 🙂
M used to be my babysitter as a kid, and never lost her talent because she was pretty much babysitting me last night. Nothing cures a sicko like a pull out couch, a Matthew McConaughey movie, electrolytes, and pasta! I can’t tell you the number of times I heard, “Drink more liquid please”, “One more piece of watermelon”, or “What can I get you”. I told her I was here to tutor her in how to be a mommy when that day comes, and she’s definitely going to pass. She and her hubs are going to be the cutest, most loving parents! You’re welcome, you two 🙂

Sicko

This is how good I look with a temp of 101. Luna is such a good nurse!

2. Nice weather in Boston. Living in New England has its perks and downfalls like everywhere else, but there should really be a disclaimer about the weather here: Beware of bipolar weather. Last week, we had 5 days of cold, dreary rain – that kind of weather really gets you down. But I gotta tell you, when the weather is nice, Boston is like a drop of sunshine on the tip of a kitten’s nose. Picture it. This weekend has been B E A Utiful…..and I’ve spent it inside in my bed. But I’m sure someone enjoyed it!!!! (looking at the positives here…)

3. Mastering the folding of a fitted sheet. This may sound silly but have you ever actually gotten a fitted sheet to look like it did when it first came out of the package!?! I mean really, high schools should teach this shit. I felt really proud when I got my fitted sheet, flat sheet, and two pillow cases in the case that they came from. My night was a good one 🙂

4. Fruit smoothies. There is nothing like a little somethin’ sweet, fruity, cold, and delish on a summer (late spring) day! Roomie made me and my future roomie a delightful smoothy today that really filled me up and gave me that little something sweet I need after just about every meal. And it was soo simple! All it had in it was:

  • frozen strawberries
  • banana
  • ice
  • almond milk

How awesome is that? And super healthy. Thanks Rooms 🙂

5. And lastly, I always enjoy an almost empty supermarket. When I go shopping at the MB for my weekly groceries, I leave feeling exhausted, rushed, and almost fluent in 5 different languages. Don’t get me wrong here, I looove the MB because it’s prices are so low I can almost justify getting my fourth pair of summer heels! But I decided to mix it up tonight and headed to the Star Market. It was pretty much empty and I had more than enough time to check out each and every kind of plum, cottage cheese, and organic frozen chicken fingers (they didn’t have my kind 😦 ). No crowded aisles, no people in the veggie section, and no throng of people waiting in line at the deli. I like my grocery stores the way I like my men: untaken with great service. Ooowwwww oww

Hope this weekend was a happy one 🙂

About comininhot

I'm starting a blog to make being happy my job. I have always prided myself in having a positive outlook on life and making the best of bad situations. Recently, a trying and terribly sad event has struck me and my family and it's been a lot harder than I thought to get back to my normal self. Writing down 5 things every night that made me happy, grateful, or just simply something awesome that I thought of or found has brought to my attention that no matter how sucky life may seem, there are always things to be happy about. Which is why I wanted to share with others how great life can be. I'm no inspirational speaker (nor is my life particularly super interesting) but I'm going to try my best to be awesome for you guys :) I hope you enjoy! Make it a happy one!

Leave a Reply

