With Good Friends, Come Great Quotes

Standard

A good friend of mine from college told me this quote years ago, and it is still my favorite:

Nothing worthwhile ever comes easy”

It resonates in so many instances, but most recently with applying to grad school. Like I said before, I’m trying to figure out how to go back to school to become an occupational therapist. The idea is so appealing: learning more about the human body and how to make it work after it breaks, working with people every day, teaching them how to get healthy, creating relationships with clients, and maybe even working for myself. Give me even one of those and I’ll be happy, but combining all of that into a career? Yes please.

Going into this, I expected applying to grad schools to be like applying to college – alas, no it is not. Do I have the right prerequisites? Will I make the deadlines? Do I need volunteer hours? How many letters of recommendation do I need? And most importantly…will I be able to afford this? So much to take into consideration and it’s blowing my mind. I’m getting all wrapped up in how hard/confusing this is (so grateful for college counselors and parents when I applied to college….Mrs. Mudge? Where are you???) that it’s startign to make me feel discouraged but I can’t let that get to me. One step at a time. Take the GREs. Find OTs to shadow. Call potential schools about the classes that I’ve already taken – will they count? Instead of looking at the big picture which happens with me all the time, I have to take it slow and look carefully at each part of the process. I get intimidated easily with big changes and obstacles in life, so I gotta remember to stand back, breathe, and put one foot in front of the other to continue. Being an OT is something I really want to accomplish, so I’m going to stick to the idea and be suuuuper proud when I finish it 🙂

Isn’t he just the cutest??

Stay inspired and make it work!

About comininhot

I'm starting a blog to make being happy my job. I have always prided myself in having a positive outlook on life and making the best of bad situations. Recently, a trying and terribly sad event has struck me and my family and it's been a lot harder than I thought to get back to my normal self. Writing down 5 things every night that made me happy, grateful, or just simply something awesome that I thought of or found has brought to my attention that no matter how sucky life may seem, there are always things to be happy about. Which is why I wanted to share with others how great life can be. I'm no inspirational speaker (nor is my life particularly super interesting) but I'm going to try my best to be awesome for you guys :) I hope you enjoy! Make it a happy one!

Leave a Reply

