Labor Day Weekend: Part 1

Standard

Turns out the key to a successful blog is consistent posting…I gotta step up my game hard. Luckily, I had a really exciting long weekend, and I can’t wait to tell you guys about it 🙂 This labor day weekend was 0 parts labor, 10 parts weekend. I treated it mainly as a last HURRAH for summer 2012, so I wanted to spend the whole time outside soaking up the sun one last time.

Weekend preview!

Friday, everyone got out of work early so I decided to take advantage of the perfect afternoon with a workout on the Harvard stadium steps to give my gluteus maximus a kick in the gluteus maximus. Usually, I do the stairs with Meg and some of her friends, but I’ve never done it without anyone else to motivate me to do one more section (of which there are 37). I found myself getting tired way faster than I wanted to, and it wasn’t just because of the stifling afternoon heat. Having another person doing the workout with you is much more exciting than doing it alone. Let’s face it – workouts get tedious every once in a while, so bringing someone along heightens the fun-factor of exercise. This solo sesh was not ideal, but I still got in half the stadium (18 sections up and down), along with 30 push ups and 30 tricep dips. And since no one was in the stadium other than me, some loud self-motivation was necessary towards the last, oh, 16 sections.

At the halfway point

My real weekend started VERY early Saturday morning. While many of you were still dreaming of weekend possibilities, I woke up at 6:00am to beat the traffic to Cape Cod for a fun-filled day trip. Luckily, it was worth it because I made it to my destination in 2 hours flat without any car troubles or fist fights (Boston drivers are truly in a league of their own). A friend of Meg’s from grad school has a house on the Cape, and Meg and Dave were staying there for the weekend with her wonderful family. We got right to business as soon as I arrived – after a few local, handmade donuts, we could almost hear the beach calling our names.

We spent our morning floating on rafts playing with her three sons aged 11, 9, and 6. There is definitely a special place in heaven for the mother of 3 boys. As I never had a brother, I know nothing about boys growing up and man oh man, do they have a lot of energy! Always eating, chasing each other, and building or destroying things. They were all very well-behaved though, and I had such a good time hanging out with the little ones 🙂

Our afternoon consisted of a short nap, a long bike ride, and a delicious lunch from a local (very popular) food truck called Sunbird.  I ordered a hotdog with ketchup, while others had fish tacos or a market sandwich. YUM! The atmosphere at this place was so pleasing – colorful picnic tables, tons of potted flowers, and an awesome playlist of 60’s music blasting out of invisible speakers. We were jamming along to the Allman Brothers as we waited for our food, and I didn’t mind one bit!

A gourmet truck

For dinner, we went to another local food place called Mac’s on the Pier, known for their clam chowder. I ordered that, of course, and wasn’t disappointed. Others had fish and chips, a pork burrito (a little out of place, Meg), and fried clams. Sitting right on the water with the sail boats was the perfect way to continue my day at the Cape.

But it didn’t stop there! I decided to stay an hour or two later than I had planned in order to make the bonfire on the beach. They had gotten special permission and a permit to be able to fire up the ‘mallows on the beach, so it was a must attend event. We set up shop on the beach right before sunset. There were surfers in the water after sharks were cited in the area this week (Jaws much???) which didn’t seem like such a great idea, but definitely made for a good picture.

The highlight of the night was s’making s’mores s’on s’the s’beach. For some reason, these were a lot better than the ones I’ve had previously this summer. Maybe because it was my last one and I wanted to treasure the marshmallow-y goodness.

It’s hard to capture night landscapes on film, but instagram puts up a good effort.

I left after the sun went down and the moon began rising pink on the horizon – a gorgeous night spent on the beach! It was hard to take myself out of that situation, but duty calls back in Boston. What a great start to the weekend! More to come….

About comininhot

I'm starting a blog to make being happy my job. I have always prided myself in having a positive outlook on life and making the best of bad situations. Recently, a trying and terribly sad event has struck me and my family and it's been a lot harder than I thought to get back to my normal self. Writing down 5 things every night that made me happy, grateful, or just simply something awesome that I thought of or found has brought to my attention that no matter how sucky life may seem, there are always things to be happy about. Which is why I wanted to share with others how great life can be. I'm no inspirational speaker (nor is my life particularly super interesting) but I'm going to try my best to be awesome for you guys :) I hope you enjoy! Make it a happy one!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Not-So-Laborious Day Weekend: Part 2 « Comin' In Hot

Leave a Reply

